Gear Up for Biking with Pratt Library Resources

Posted on May 9, 2018May 17, 2018 by Tracy Dimond

Spring weather is finally here, and some Pratt staff are out biking to work at the library as well as farmer’s markets, parks, and Baltimore city streets. Whether you’re thinking about biking for transportation, fitness, or adventure, we have some biking resources to share. There are so many biking opportunities around Baltimore, and so much to borrow from the Pratt collection for free with your library card.

May is Bike Month – Join Us and Check out Local Links

Bike to Work Day is rescheduled for June 1, 2018, with free registration through May 30. Some Pratt staff members will be stopping at Baltimore City pit stops for our annual free T-shirt, coffee and snacks on our way to work at the library
Our Roland Park Branch at 5108 Roland Ave, Baltimore, MD 21210 is one of the pit stops, where Joe’s Bike Shop will be on-site, with raffles, free coffee and donuts, and a mechanic for bicycle tune-ups
Wednesday, May 9 is Baltimore’s Bike to School Day
For youth and families, check out the BYKE Collective, Baltimore Bike Experience, and Baltimore Family Bike Party rides, plus tips for family biking.
Velocipede Bike Project provides access to second hand bicycles and hands-on education, and Bikemore works to improve Baltimore’s bike infrastructure and advocacy, providing tips for biking in Baltimore
Bike Maryland serves the whole state with advocacy and rides, and links to bike routes and trail maps
Social group rides are offered by all of the organizations listed above, as well as the well established Baltimore Bicycling Club and casual groups like Fun on Bikes
You can borrow a bike (electric-assist, even!) with Baltimore Bike Share, or rent or buy one a local bike shop. Some staff favorites include Baltimore Bicycle Works, Race Pace, Joe’s, and Baynesville for used or vintage bikes

Borrow or Browse Bike Books & Media

Search the Pratt catalog to find books, ebooks, movies and more on bicycling or cycling, bike repair, or biking books for kids. Click or tap an item below to borrow it now, have it sent to your local library to pickup, or even stream some online on your computer or mobile device.

Getting started and keeping your bike in shape

Bike commuting and riding in the city

For kids and families

Fitness biking

All types of biking

Biking beyond Baltimore

Bike themed movies

Inspiring biking stories

Hope to see you biking to a Pratt Library location soon–don’t forget that you can have any of the books or DVDs above sent to your nearest local library branch for pickup.

Have you used any good bike resources from us? If so, let us know on social media and tag it #atthepratt.

May Day Library Guide

Posted on May 1, 2018April 19, 2018 by Tracy Dimond

Happy May Day! Celebrate by learning more about the US Labor movement through music, photography, theatre, poetry, literature, and film from the Fine Arts and Humanities departments.

Click on the cover to reserve your copy now.

Labor Music

Prints and Photographs

Humanities: Theatre

Humanities: Poetry

Humanities: Film

Humanities: Literature

Checking out one of the resources? Share it on social media with #atthepratt.

Check out the Pratt Pamphlet Play Index

Posted on April 30, 2018April 4, 2018 by Meghan McCorkell

Looking for audition material or a play for class? Check out the Pratt Pamphlet Play Collection.

Recently, an actor came into the Central Library and told staff she never missed a chance to check out the Pamphlet Play Collection. The acting editions of plays are located in the Humanities Department. Most plays in the collection are arranged alphabetically by author.

The Collection contains:

Audition material
Plays to perform
Copies of a play to read for class

Using the Pamphlet Play Index, it’s possible to find a short play in a collection, a comedy about a certain topic or a drama for a certain number or actors or actresses. You can also find plays by genre, such as mysteries or farces. There are also separate sections for collections such as Auditions and Monologues, Christmas Plays. Also, an advanced search can be created for the specific kind of play sought. For example, by combining search features it is possible to find a monologue by Edward Albee, a dramatic adaptation of Animal Farm, a comedy for 3 men and 6 women, or a melodrama for a high school group.

So, head to Humanities at the Central Library to check out Pamphlet Plays.

Master Technology from Home

Posted on April 26, 2018April 11, 2018 by Meghan McCorkell

Having trouble figuring out Microsoft? Want to learn more about Blockchain? How about video game programming?

You can learn it all without ever leaving your house with Safari Books.

With your Pratt Library card you have access to Safari Books, guides for technology. Safari Books Online is the premiere on-demand digital library providing over 44124 technology, digital media, and business books and videos online to academic and library users. The resources can help with both personal and professional development. Some top titles include:

Android™ How to Program, Third Edition by Paul Deitel and Harvey M. Deitel

Beginning Node.js byBasarat Ali Syed

Head First C by David Griffiths and Dawn Griffiths

Check out Safari Books today with your Pratt Library card.

Black Women’s History Month Resources: Part 3

Posted on April 23, 2018April 17, 2018 by Tracy Dimond

In 2014, the state of Georgia and the city of Atlanta declared April as Black Women’s History Month. Pratt Library staff have highlighted related texts in the Humanities Department, Fine Arts and Music Department, and African American Department. Please enjoy the major contributions black women have made to religion, theatre, poetry, writing, political thought, activism, and art. Check out the first and second post for more suggested reading.

Click the cover to reserve your copy now.

Black Feminism

Included here are works by seminal scholars that consider black women’s historical contributions to the feminist movement. Several texts reflect on intersectionality- the theory that race, class, gender, and other social categorization creates overlapping identities that shape black women’s experiences in ways often very different from white women.

BIOGRAPHY/AUTOBIOGRAPHY

Highlighted here are works by and about influential but lesser known black women, including early suffragists, Civil Rights leaders, Black Panthers, and contemporary cultural critics.