What’s New in Nonfiction

This month, check out new titles from some fresh voices and some that have already made their mark in the Nonfiction genre.

Long Live the Tribe of Fatherless Girls
By T. Kira Madden

In her raw debut, acclaimed essayist, T.Kira Madden explores coming of age as a queer, biracial teen dealing with cult-like privilege, racial disparities, white-collar crime, and more in Florida.

Read the book

The Lady from the Black Lagoon: Hollywood Monsters and the Lost Legacy of Milicent Patrick
By Mallory O’Meara

Uncover the life and work of Milicent Patrick–one of Disney’s first female animators and the only woman in history to create one of Hollywood’s classic movie monsters.

Read | Listen

We Speak for Ourselves: A Word from Forgotten Black America
By D. Watkins

The New York Times bestselling author of The Cook Up: A Crack Rock Memoir offers an in-depth analysis of inner-city hurdles and honors the stories therein. Honest and eye-opening, We Speak for Ourselves makes us listen, feel, and create a course toward change that starts right where we are.

Read the Book

After Life: My Journey From Incarceration to Freedom
By Anne Marie Johnson
Read the Book
Batch Cocktails: Make Ahead Pitcher Drinks for Every Occasion
By Maggie Hoffman

Read the Book
How to Love a Country: Poems By Richard Blanco
Read the Book
LeBron, Inc: The Making Of A Billion-Dollar Athlete
By Brian Windhorst

Read the Book
Nanaville: Adventures in Grandparenting By Anna Quindlen
Read | Download
Stony the Road: Reconstruction, White Supremacy, and the Rise of Jim Crow
By Henry Louis Gates, Jr.

Read the Book
The Light Years
By Chris Rush

Read the Book
Working: Researching, Interviewing, Writing
By Robert A. Caro
Read the Book

Like This? Read That!

We’re excited about the new fiction books hitting the Pratt shelves this May. Here’s a list of highly anticipated novels and suggestions if they are already on your “To Read” List.  Enjoy!

Red, White & Royal Blue
By Casey McQuiston

What happens when America’s First Son falls in love with the Prince of Wales? Don’t miss this laugh-out loud funny and sexy romantic tale from Casey McQuiston.

Read the Book

Like Red, White & Royal Blue? Add these to your reading list.

I Wish You All the Best
By Mason Deaver

Read | Listen
The Kiss Quotient
By Helen Hoang

Read | Download | Listen

The Unhoneymooners
By Christina Lauren

Read | Download | Listen

A Prince on Paper
By Alyssa Cole

The Reluctant Royals series returns with fan favorite character Nya Jerami searching for the life that’s not too big, and not too small, and the bad boy prince who might be just right for her.

Read | Download

Interested in A Prince on Paper? Check out the previous books in the Reluctant Royals series.

A Princess in Theory
By Alyssa Cole

Read | Listen
A Duke by Default
By Alyssa Cole

Read | Listen
Once Ghosted,
Twice Shy
By Alyssa Cole
Read the Book

The Flight Portfolio
By Julie Orringer

The long-awaited novel from the best-selling author of The Invisible Bridge takes us back to occupied Europe in this gripping historical novel based on the true story of Varian Fry’s extraordinary attempt to save the work, and the lives, of Jewish artists fleeing the Holocaust.

Read | Listen

Fan of The Flight Portfolio? Check out these novels.

Henry, Himself
By Stewart O’Nan

Read the Book
The Paris Diversion
By Chris Pavone

Read the Book
The Guest Book
By Marybeth Whalen

Download | Listen

Get your Head in the Game!

Video Games are new to the Enoch Pratt Free Library. With options available for Nintendo Switch, PlayStation 4, and Xbox One gaming systems, there’s something for everyone to enjoy. Stop by your nearby branch to find out more information.

Whether you are new to gaming or advanced, check out our picks!

Jurassic World: Evolution
PlayStation 4 | Xbox One
Kingdom Hearts III
PlayStation 4 | Xbox One
Madden NFL 19
PlayStation 4 | Xbox One
NBA 2K Playgrounds 2
PlayStation 4 | Xbox One
Resident Evil 2
PlayStation 4 | Xbox One
Spyro: Reignited Trilogy
PlayStation 4 | Xbox One
The LEGO Movie 2
Switch | PlayStation 4 | Xbox One
Super Smash Bros. Ultimate
Switch
Street Fighter: 30th Anniversary Collection
PlayStation 4 |
Switch | Xbox One
Paw Patrol on a Roll
PlayStation 4 |
Switch | Xbox One
Nickelodeon Kart Racers
PlayStation 4 |
Switch | Xbox One
Just Dance 2019
PlayStation 4 | Switch | Wii | Xbox One

What’s Hitting the Shelves for Kids this May

We’re excited about new books joining the Children’s collection at the Pratt. Make sure you and the family stop by your nearby branch to check them out!

A Computer Called Katherine: How Katherine Johnson Helped Put America On The Moon
By Suzanne Slade

Award-winning author Suzanne Slade and debut artist Veronica Miller Jamison tell the story of a NASA “computer” Katherine Johnson—made famous by the film Hidden Figures.

Check it out here.

Caterpillar Summer
By Gillian McDunn

This beautifully written, emotional debut tells the story of a girl, her special needs brother, and the summer they will never forget.

Read it here.

The Strangers
By Margaret Peterson Haddix

Readers, don’t miss out on this thrilling adventure filled with mysteries and plot twists aplenty in this absorbing series about family and friendships. Perfect for fans of A Wrinkle in Time and The City of Ember!

Check it out here.

Also new this month:

The Little Guys
By Vera Brosgol

Check it out.
Don’t Let Them Disappear
By Chelsea Clinton

Check it out.
Puddle
By Richard Jackson

Check it out.

The Latest Books for Young Adults

Here’s a list of books new to the Pratt that teens and fans of Young Adults are sure to enjoy. Go ahead, open up a book and jump into a fantasy world with new books from The Mortal Instruments author Cassandra Clare and more.

You Owe Me a Murder
By Eileen Cook

On a school trip to London that includes her ex-boyfriend, Kim meets risk-taker Nicki. When she jokes about swapping murders, Kim plays along – that is, until Kim’s ex-boyfriend mysteriously dies. Blackmailed by Nicki to fulfill her end of the deal, Kim will have to commit a murder or take the fall for one.

Read the Book


The Weight of the Stars
By K. Ancrum

Don’t miss this new LGBT young adult romance from K. Ancrum, written with the same style of short, micro-fiction chapters and immediacy that garnered acclaim for her debut, The Wicker King.

Read | Download

Whats New this Month:

The Red Scrolls of Magic: Eldest Curses Book One
By Cassandra Clare
Read | Download | Listen
Barely Missing Everything
By Matt Mendez

Read | Download | Listen
To Kill a Kingdom
By Alexandra Christo

Read | Download
Ruse
By Cindy Pon

Read the Book
The Shadowglass
By Rin Chupeco

Read | Download
Brawler
By Neil Connelly

Read the Book