Pratt Staff Picks Best of 2017: Young Adult Titles

All week long, the Pratt librarians are picking the best books of 2017 for your reading list.  Click on the cover to reserve your copy now.

Today– we introduce you to…

Best Young Adult Titles 2017

THE HATE U GIVE

By Angie Thomas

[The Most Recommended YA Title of 2017] Sixteen-year-old Starr Carter moves between two worlds: the poor neighborhood where she lives and the fancy suburban prep school she attends. That is shattered as she witnesses the shooting of her best friend by a police officer.

                                                                                    JANE, UNLIMITED

By Kristin Cashore

[Recommended by Lucie Ferguson]An instant New York Times bestseller—from the award-winning author of the Graceling Realm series—a kaleidoscopic novel about grief, adventure, storytelling, and finding yourself in a world of seemingly infinite choices.

THE GREAT AMERICAN WHATEVER

By Tim Federle

[Recommended by Julie Johnson] Quinn Roberts is a sixteen-year-old smart aleck and Hollywood hopeful whose only worry used to be writing convincing dialogue for the movies he made with his sister Annabeth. That was before a car accident changed everything.

                                                                            FLYING LESSONS & OTHER STORIES

Edited By Ellen Oh

[Recommended by Will Robinson] In partnership with We Need Diverse Books some of the biggest names in literature come together to tell ten distinct and vibrant stories.

LONG WAY DOWN

By Jason Reynolds

[Recommended by Deborah Taylor] Jason Reynolds’s fiercely stunning novel takes place in sixty potent seconds—the time it takes a kid to decide whether or not he’s going to murder the guy who killed his brother.

 EMBER IN THE ASHES

By Sabaa Tahir

[Recommended by Ariel Greenway] Laia is a slave. Elias is a soldier. Neither is free. When Laia’s brother is arrested for treason, their paths cross and they realize their destinies are intertwined.

GET CODING! LEARN HTML, CSS AND JAVASCRIPT AND BUILD A WEBSITE, APP AND GAME

By Young Rewired State

[Recommended by Liz Bosarge] Crack open this book and set off on several fun missions — while simultaneously learning the basics of writing code.

Check out #PrattChat tomorrow for the Best Graphic Novels 2017.

Pratt Staff Picks Best of 2017: Fiction

Still looking for the perfect holiday read? The Pratt Staff has you covered all this week with their top picks for 2017.   Just click on the cover to reserve your copy now.

Today we start with……

Best Fiction 2017

THE HOUSE WITHOUT WINDOWS

By Nadia Hashimi

[Recommended by Helen Bennett]: A vivid, unforgettable story of an unlikely sisterhood—an emotionally powerful and haunting tale of friendship that illuminates the plight of women in a traditional culture—from the author of the bestselling The Pearl That Broke Its Shell and When the Moon Is Low.

                                THE FIFTH SEASON

             By N. K. Jemisin

[Recommended by Ann Gordon]  After the empire Sanze collapses and the vast continent Stillness becomes ravaged by a red rift which darkens the sky, Essun, whose daughter has been kidnapped by her murderous husband, crosses Stillness in a desperate attempt to save her daughter.

 

 

LILAC GIRLS

By Martha Hall Kelly

[Recommended by Anne Calhoun]   For readers of The Nightingale and Sarah’s Key, inspired by the life of a real World War II heroine, this remarkable debut novel reveals the power of unsung women to change history in their quest for love, freedom, and second chances.

 

PRUSSIAN BLUE

By Philip Kerr

[Recommended by Tom Warner]  When his cover is blown, former Berlin bull and unwilling SS officer Bernie Gunther must re-enter a cat-and-mouse game that continues to shadow his life a decade after Germany’s defeat in World War 2…

   

MISS SUSIE SLAGLE’S

By Augusta Tucker

[Recommended by Holly Tominack]  Originally published in 1939, this book spent six months on the national bestseller lists and went through 23 hardcover printings. “A novel written out of love and meticulous observation” (“New York Herald Tribune”), the story recounts the trials and tribulations of a group of Johns Hopkins medical students who boarded at Miss Susie Slagle’s house on Biddle Street in Baltimore during the years before World War I.

 

CHEMISTRY

By Weike Wang

[Recommended by Lucie Ferguson]  A luminous coming-of-age novel about a young female scientist who must recalibrate her life when her academic career goes off track; perfect for readers of Lab Girl and Celeste Ng’s Everything I Never Told You.

Check in tomorrow for Pratt Staff picks for Best Nonfiction Titles of 2017.